Salisbury Homeopathy College wins teaching award

New teaching innovation award goes to Salisbury

The winner of the Society’s first ever Teaching Innovation Awards was Salisbury Homeopathy College, whose entry was based on groups of students pitching a homeopathy business plan to a local charity.

The inspirational project was devised by teachers Susie Nichol and Sue Stotter, who were presented with the award at the Society’s annual conference.

All entries had to describe a specific lesson or learning experience which students had undertaken over 2010/11, and the main criterion was to show how the students were engaged actively in their learning.

Presenting the awards, senior education advisor Linda Wicks said: “Every homeopath is here today because they have been inspired and motivated by teachers. Whatever experience or interest initially led you to study homeopathy, it grew as you were encouraged to learn and explore. Teaching is a creative art – the most inventive programmes and activities lead people to reach their own understanding and find answers for themselves.

“All entries, from courses and individual teachers, demonstrated a very high standard of work and, above all, the sheer enjoyment of teaching and learning.”

Salisbury’s vice principal and co-director Lulu Badger said: “We are delighted to be the  proud winners of the Teaching Innovation Award. It is from this firm foundation that Annie and her team are delighted to be celebrating their tenth year as a course provider in this field of medicine.”

Second place in the awards went to the British School of Homeopathy in Exeter, run by Mo and Ali Morrish. Their submission described a student-run hayfever clinic, which brought in new patients from the busy shopping centre.

In third place was Elaine Watson, known for her pioneering work on medical science courses which are used by a number of homeopathy colleges here and abroad.  She submitted an entertaining take on the wonders of the human digestive system.

Linda said: “We intend this to be an annual award which will celebrate the continuing achievements of teachers in our recognised courses.”